National Youth Work Awards 2020

The National Youth Work Awards celebrates youth work and the youth workers who make a difference every year in the lives of young people. They are aimed at individual youth workers, managers, projects or groups for work that is delivered in youth work settings or in other settings, using a youth work approach. The awards are a mixture of universal, targeted and specialist youth work provision.

We are delighted to announce this year's finalists - click on the category to find out who they are:

Arts & Creativity (sponsored by Creative Scotland)

  • BANG Summer Camp
  • Helping Young People Engage (HYPE)
  • In The Mix Project

Attainment & Skills (sponsored by Education Scotland)

  • FARE Scotland
  • Scran Academy
  • Innovative School Projects

Community-Based Youth Work (sponsored by Scottish Fire and Rescue Service)

  • Youthpoint Glasgow
  • Cupar Youth Café
  • Arran Youth Foundations

Digital & STEM (sponsored by The Prince's Trust Scotland)

  • Martin Dunbar, The Boys’ Brigade
  • Anthony Chalmers, Fullarton Youth & Community Project
  • Lesley Ellis, Cromar Future Group

Environment & Conservation (sponsored by Scottish Natural Heritage)

  • Innerleithen Scout Group – Golden Eagle Champions
  • St Paul’s Youth Forum

Equality & Diversity (sponsored by YMCA Scotland)

  • BANG Summer Camp
  • David Shields, LGBT Youth Scotland and TD1 Youth Hub
  • @Home Youth Centre Supported Group

Inspirational Leader (sponsored by Scottish Government)

  • Khaleda Noon, Intercultural Youth Scotland
  • Kelly Ross, Dumfries & Galloway Council
  • Andy Bathgate, SU Scotland

Mental Health & Wellbeing (sponsored by BBC Children in Need)

  • Martin Lahiffe, North Berwick Youth Project
  • Youth Health Champions, YoMo Young Movers
  • See Me Education & Young People Team

Participation & Youth Voice (sponsored by Scottish Government)

  • Caitlin McKinnon, The Fruitmarket Gallery
  • Sophie Rogers & Jimmy Monaghan, West Dunbartonshire Council Working4U

Team of the Year (sponsored by CLD Standards Council for Scotland)

  • The Yard Fun and Friendship Clubs
  • See Me Staff & Youth Champions
  • Paisley YMCA Digital Youth Work Team

Volunteer Youth Worker (sponsored by Young Scot)

  • Rebecca Johnson, See Me Scotland
  • Chris Attkins, Arran Youth Foundations
  • Sally Nimmo, See Me Scotland

Youth Justice & Prevention (sponsored by Scottish Community Safety Network)

  • Mayfield & Easthouses Youth 2000 Project
  • St Paul’s Youth Forum Diversionary Programme
  • TD1 Youth Hub – Young Men’s Project

Youth Worker of the Year (sponsored by SQA)

  • Lyndsey Ritchie, Mayfield & Easthouses Youth 2000 Project
  • Julie Craig, Aberlour Childcare Trust
  • Kelly Bruce, Castlemilk Youth Complex

Lifetime Achievement – Fellowship of YouthLink Scotland (sponsored by YouthLink Scotland)

  • Jim Boyle, Bridges Project (Posthumous)
  • Carol Downie, The Gannochy Trust
  • Anne Hosie MBE, Girls’ Brigade
  • Bill Stevenson, The Boys’ Brigade
  • Colin Easton, YouthBorders

All successful nominators have now been contacted.

The National Youth Work Awards Dinner 

Join us at the National Youth Work Awards Dinner to help celebrate the fantastic work carried out by the youth work sector across Scotland. This showcase event will recognise amazing youth work staff and volunteers and will give you a chance to network, enjoy a fantastic dinner, entertainment and celebrate in style.

This year's Awards ceremony will be hosted by Jane McCarry, a BAFTA award winning actor best known for playing nosey pensioner Isa Drennan in the iconic sitcom Still Game. Younger viewers might remember her as Granny Murray from the hit C-Beebies show ‘Me Too’. (An unfortunate title in this climate) Jane trained at Queen Margaret College in Edinburgh.... many... many years ago and has worked extensively in theatre, radio and TV since.

Jane is also a secondary school teacher and has worked in mainstream, behaviour support and with young people with complex needs in a variety of Glasgow schools. She is honoured and excited to be hosting The National Youth Workers Awards 2020 and to be in the company of so many inspiring and exceptional young people.

Prices: £85.00 plus VAT (£102.00) for individual places. Tables of 10 available at £800.00 plus VAT (£960.00).

Online booking

Back to top