Keep Erasmus+

The UK leaving the European Union places our membership of Erasmus+ in jeopardy. Help us take action to keep it.

Sign the petition

We're asking the UK Government to commit to maintaining participation in Erasmus+ programme after Brexit. Will you join us?

We won't publish your personal details anywhere or use them for anything other than this petition.

Want to find out more about Erasmus+? Keep on scrolling.

Please tick this box if you'd be happy for us to contact you by email to find out more.

What is Erasmus+?

Erasmus+ is a European funding programme for education, training, youth and sport. It enables people - especially those who can't otherwise afford it - to study, work, volunteer, teach and train in other countries.

Erasmus+ funds all sorts of educational activities in different settings, including in schools, youth exchanges, cultural projects, volunteering, vocational training and studying at university abroad.

In 2014, Erasmus and other programmes (Comenius, Erasmus, Grundtvig, Leonardo, and Youth in Action) joined together to become Erasmus+.

Over the past 30 years, 600,000 people from the UK have taken part in Erasmus+. Between 2014 and 2020, Erasmus+ will have been worth £793 million to the UK.

What are the benefits of Erasmus+?

Erasmus+ boosts skills and employability, as well as modernising education, training, and youth work. It provides professional development opportunities for educators including study visits, job shadowing, training and the development of innovative resources.

It’s not just individuals that benefit from Erasmus+. Charities, businesses and wider communities also benefit from the programme, gaining volunteers, additional training and international networks. Read some of our Erasmus+ stories here.

Will people from the UK still benefit from Erasmus+ after Brexit?

The UK government and the EU haven't agreed this yet.

We know it's possible for the UK to continue to participate in Erasmus+ after leaving the EU. Countries like Iceland, Norway and Turkey, who aren’t members of the EU, still participate as partners in Erasmus+, each with a unique model of participation.

Take action

We're asking the UK Government to commit to maintaining participation in Erasmus+ programme after Brexit.

It's up to us take action to #KeepErasmusPlus. There are three things you can do:

  1. Sign the petition to #KeepErasmusPlus above
  2. Contact your MP or MSP to ask them to support #KeepErasmusPlus. You can use our template letter.
  3. Share your Erasmus+ story on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram using #KeepErasmusPlus


Supportive Politicians

Members of Parliament (MPs)

  • Hillary Benn MP | Labour | Leeds Central
  • Tom Brake MP | Liberal Democrats | Carshalton and Wallington
  • Alistair Carmichael MP | Liberal Democrats | Orkney and Shetland
  • Douglas Chapman MP | SNP | Dunfermline and West Fife
  • Peter Grant MP | SNP | Glenrothes
  • Drew Hendry MP | SNP | Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
  • Gerald Jones MP | Labour | Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney
  • Ben Lake MP | Plaid Cymru | Ceredigion
  • Stewart McDonald MP | SNP | Glasgow South
  • Stuart McDonald MP | SNP | Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East
  • Anna McMorrin MP | Labour | Cardiff North
  • Jo Stevens MP | Labour | Cardiff Central
  • Paul Sweeney MP | Labour | Glasgow North East
  • Alison Thewliss MP | SNP | Glasgow Central
  • Dr Philippa Whitford MP | SNP | Central Ayrshire


Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)

  • Jackie Baillie MSP | Scottish Labour | Dumbarton
  • Claudia Beamish MSP | Scottish Labour | South Scotland
  • Colin Beattie MSP | SNP | Midlothian North and Musselburgh
  • Neil Findlay MSP | Scottish Labour | Lothian
  • Kenneth Gibson MSP | SNP | Cunninghame North
  • Ivan McKee MSP | SNP | Glasgow Provan
  • Christina McKelvie MSP | SNP | Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse
  • Mike Rumbles MSP | Scottish Liberal Democrats | North East Scotland
  • Tavish Scott MSP | Scottish Liberal Democrats | Shetland Islands
  • Shirley-Anne Somerville MSP | SNP | Dunfermline
  • Andy Wightman MSP | Scottish Greens | Lothian


Members of the National Assembly for Wales (AMs)

  • Dawn Bowden AM | Welsh Labour | Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney
  • Llyr Gruffydd AM | Plaid Cymru | North Wales
  • Siân Gwenllian AM | Plaid Cymru | Arfon
  • Vikki Howells AM | Welsh Labour | Cynon Valley
  • Mandy Jones AM | UKIP | North Wales
  • Julie Morgan AM | Welsh Labour | Cardiff North
  • Lynne Neagle AM | Welsh Labour | Torfaen
  • Lee Waters AM | Welsh Labour | Llanelli

Our partners

Back to top