Finalists announced for the National Youth Work Awards 2018!

About the Awards

The National Youth Work Awards celebrate youth work and the youth workers who make a difference in the lives of young people every year. As part of Year of Young People 2018, young people are co-designing the event with our staff, member organisations and event sponsors.

National Youth Work Awards Dinner

Our Awards Dinner to announce and celebrate the achievements of the finalists is being held on the evening of Thursday 15 March at the Crowne Plaza Glasgow. Book your individual place or a table of 10 using the link below.

You don't have to be a finalist or nominator to attend... Why not join us as a youth work supporter at the Awards dinner this year? It's a fantastic networking opportunity as well as a chance to see in action how #youthworkchangeslives.

Watch what happened last year and how the Awards have gone from strength to strength.

Information and online booking. Please note that online bookings will close on Thursday 8 March.

Draft programme.

And the finalists are...

Community Based Youth Work (Sponsored by Youth Scotland)
RASAC Youth Ambassadors, Perth & Kinross
Danielle Fitzpatrick – Callander Youth Project Trust
Matilda Lomas – Girlguiding Scotland

Digital Youth Work (Sponsored by Sky Academy)
Darran Gillan - Paisley YMCA
The SCRATCH Group, North Ayrshire
#TransplantStories Project, North Lanarkshire

Equality and Diversity
Haggeye – RNIB Scotland
Julie Ann Lyons – LGBT Youth Scotland
Dionne Griffiths – North Ayrshire Council

Inspirational Leader (Sponsored by The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scotland)
Sue Walker – Girlguiding Scotland
Kevin Wells – East Ayrshire Council
Neil Young – St Paul’s Youth Forum, Glasgow

Mental Health and Wellbeing (Sponsored by Mental Health Foundation Scotland and NHS Health Scotland)
Arran Youth Foundations, Isle of Arran
See Me Youth Champions
Julie Middlemiss Brown, Youth Borders

Skills for Life (Sponsored by SQA)
SWAYED by Youth Work, Glasgow Life
Alpha Venture Employability Project, East Ayrshire
Jamie Proudfoot – Callander Youth Project Trust

Supporting Attainment (Sponsored by Education Scotland)
Katie Mackay – The Prince’s Trust
Heather McCormick – East Ayrshire Council
Outdoor Learning Team – Renfrewshire Council

Team of the Year (Sponsored by CLD Standards Council for Scotland)
Youth Enquiry Service, Dumfries
Perth & District YMCA
Team PEEK (Possibilities for Each and Every Kid)

Time to Shine Arts and Creativity (Sponsored by Creative Scotland)
Helping Young People Engage (HYPE) Programme, West Lothian
Caroline Burnside – Ydance (Scottish Youth Dance)
Vertigo Theatre Group, South Lanarkshire

Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Young Scot)
Coral Riddell – The Prince’s Trust
Zoe Mason – See Me
Katie Horsburgh – Girlguiding Scotland

Youth Participation (Sponsored by Scottish Government)
Elizabeth Sullivan – North Ayrshire Council
Beth Logan - Care Experienced Young People Advocacy, North Lanarkshire 
David Donaldson – Aberdeenshire’s Young Travellers

Young Youth Worker of the Year (Sponsored by SCQF Partnership)
Otto Cox – Fife Council
David MacKnight – Kilbirnie Youth Project/Dalry Twilight Basketball, North Ayrshire
Kareen Stewart – Who Cares? Scotland

Youth Worker of the Year (Sponsored by Scottish Fire and Rescue Service)
Gayle Finlay – Dumfries & Galloway Council
John (Johnny) Hendry - Aberlour
Laura Sharpe – See Me Scotland

Lifetime Achievement (Fellowship of YouthLink Scotland)

Graham Haddock - Scouts Scotland
Maureen Herdman - Orkney Islands Council
Heather Layton - East Renfrewshire Council
Janette Lonie - Girlguiding Edinburgh
Elizabeth McDonald - Youth 1st
John Naylor - YMCA Scotland
Alistair Whitelaw - 1st Lenzie Company, The Boys' Brigade

Download a full list of the finalists and Lifetime Achievement recipients here. 


Share this

Back to news Back to top